Need help getting started after an initial fail

Status
Not open for further replies.

dr3bud

Jul 8, 2018
Hi to all. I have been smoking a pack of Parliaments each day on and off for many years. I decided recently that I would try to switch to vaping as a way to reduce the damage I was doing to myself by smoking, and so went to a local vape shop and asked for their advice about how to get started. I told them about my smoking habit and let them know that I needed something small enough to fit in my pocket comfortably, as I am a school teacher and travel frequently. I also told them that I wanted a nicotine level akin to my current smoking habit. Finally, I asked for something that would give my throat a break and be smoother and more mild than smoking when I inhale. The shop recommended the combination of a Smok pod device and 30mg mint ejuice with nicotine salts (attachment). After a week I concluded that this combination felt much more harsh and unpleasant than smoking to me, that it had way too much impact on my throat--even making me cough after one inhale!--and I stopped using it, reverting back to smoking. I would like to think that I just got bad advice at the shop, and could get better advice here. If anyone is willing to give advice or make suggestions about a combination of juice and vaporizer that might work for me--although I'm sure this question has been asked however-many times in the past--I would appreciate it!

Attachments

• 20180708_083301.png
    20180708_083301.png
    335.3 KB · Views: 29

djsvapour

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Oct 2, 2012
England and Wales
I suspect your device has a fixed power (wattage). If that is a healthy level (over 10 watts) then 30mg is very strong. However, nicotine salts should be smoother.
Parliament cigarettes (various types) are in the same sort of nicotine bands as similar products, the King Size appears to be listed at 0.7mg per cigarette... so not particularly strong.