Nicotine intake up 58%!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarcE

ECF Veteran
Nov 5, 2008
Oxford, UK
Ok so I have a question I’m sure has been raised a couple of times;

I’ve been vapping for at least 5/6 months now and absolutely love it, but I was thinking back to my days of smoking and the quantity I smoked. Now, I wasn’t a heavy smoker by any means and would get through about 3 x 12.5g packs of golden Virginia a week using filters. I’m curious as to how much nicotine I would have been in taking when smoking this quantity of tobacco in comparison to the amount I vape in a week.

So now to my very rusty maths comparison

If one tobacco cig is around 1.0mg of nicotine and I got around 25 cigs to a pouch of tobacco I was smoking around 75 cigs a week, so that’s 75mg of nicotine.

As far as I can tell I vape around 10ml of 18mg e-juice a week. So if there’s 18mg per ml of liquid I’m now in taking around 180mg of nicotine (10ml x 18mg)

This is an alarming increase in nicotine intake of 58%!! Can this really be correct?

vape4life

Mar 6, 2009
Yes. It most certainly is correct. That is the amount in the smoke and vapor. But the degree to which it is absorbed (through the lungs and mucosa) is an unknown. Maybe the juice is BETTER absorbed than smoke, which would mean more than 58% increase, or maybe it is less absorbed, which would mean less.

The nicotine in the vapor is aerosolized in PG (or VG) droplets. Whether this increases or decreases the amount to which it gets into system (not exhaled) can't really be known.

But, the nicotine intake shouldn't concern you too much. The important thing is that you are not inhaling carcinogens.

jamie

Ultra Member
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 3, 2008
USA
If one tobacco cig is around 1.0mg of nicotine and I got around 25 cigs to a pouch of tobacco I was smoking around 75 cigs a week, so that’s 75mg of nicotine.