Power control

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't completely understand power control... I currently have two rigs, an aspire Atlantis on a CF sub ohm battery and a Kanger sub tank on a smok xpro m45. Obviously the aspire products works best teamed up but the kanger says 15 to 30 watts. I have some electrical background and i know that some situations call for precision power control while others are more lax. From learning with an old vision spinner i know not to over power a coil. But is it possible to under power? Even though the kanger calls for 15-30 watts, I'm comfortable with the vape i get from 6 watts. Can i damage my coil?

K_Tech

Slightly mad but harmless
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 11, 2013
Eastern Ohio, USA
I don't completely understand power control... I currently have two rigs, an aspire Atlantis on a CF sub ohm battery and a Kanger sub tank on a smok xpro m45. Obviously the aspire products works best teamed up but the kanger says 15 to 30 watts. I have some electrical background and i know that some situations call for precision power control while others are more lax. From learning with an old vision spinner i know not to over power a coil. But is it possible to under power? Even though the kanger calls for 15-30 watts, I'm comfortable with the vape i get from 6 watts. Can i damage my coil?

Underpowered is objective, not subjective. Obviously there are some devices that simply won't produce any measurable vapor at low power levels, but it's up to you to decide what's enough.

And as to damage, no, low power levels won't damage a coil.

Ryedan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2012
Ontario, Canada

Hi danonroof and welcome to ECF :)

Power (watts) is basically the amount of heat you put into your atty. Temperature inside the atty is influenced by this to some degree, but it's also influenced by air flow, draw speed, wire gauge and the speed of your wicking.

You can't hurt your gear by using lower power.