Question on sub-ohm vaping and wattage

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeonP2

Mar 25, 2018
Hello everyone. I'm new to vaping and I recently purchased SMOK X-Priv mod with TFV12 Prince tank.

Q4 coil that comes preinstalled in TFV12 tank has 0.4 ohm and requires 40-100W range. Vape was little too hot for me (I was using MTL device before), so I was looking to buy a replacement coil that didn't require high wattage. I found M4 which has lower 30-70W range. However, it has 0.17 ohm. I thought lower ohm means it requires higher wattage. Why does M4, having lower resistance require more wattage than Q4?

Question 2: SMOK website says M4 is applicable to mechanical mod. Does that mean it works better on mechanical mods and it was not meant to be used in regulated mods?

sonicbomb

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 17, 2015
1187 Hundertwasser
You can vape either of those coils at any wattage you like best. The resistance of the coil has no bearing on how much power you choose to apply to it with a regulated mod. Lower resistance coils will often be made of heavier wire, that may need more power to light up.
Understanding the relationship between power and coil resistance | E-Cigarette Forum

You say you are looking for a low wattage setup, but the TFV12 is specifically designed for high wattage and big clouds.

As my bombastic colleague said, premade coils on a mechanical mod is generally a bad idea. Inconsistencies in manufacture may result in a shorted coil and a thoroughly bad day for you and yours.

uthinkofsomething

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 7, 2015
Toledo, Ohio