Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

EagleGreen

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 21, 2012
Hammonton NJ
I've been vaping for a few years now but still a novice at a few things. One being RDA's. Now I'm the kind of vapor who since I started always wanted the plug n plays devices.. I hated punching cartos and doing that route.. Then the Novas came around and that changed everything for me.. From there I got as high at using the PT2 and have no knowledge of any better tanks. But what I'm here for is to ask about RDA's Pros and cons over using replaceable coils. Are they easy to set up? Better flavor? Cheaper then buying coils for other tanks.. I'd love to know.

Spazmelda

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 18, 2011
Ohio
I use a rebuildable tank as dripping isn't really convenient for me.

Hmm. Pros
Save money- an inexpensive rebuildable is not much more (sometimes cheaper) than a tank. Roll of wire and cotton for wicks is super cheap.

Can build what you want- make the coils exactly like you want them. If it doesn't work right, just rebuild.

Less fiddling- this seems counterintuitive, but once you learn how to build them they take very little maintenance and very little fiddling to stop gurgles or dry hits, or whatever.

Coils last longer- maybe this is just me, but my coils last a long long time. With protank heads, I'd get about 3 days before I wanted a fresh coil. With a rebuilt head I seem to get over a week. With protank heads, there seemed to be a definite limit to how many times it could be dry burned before it just wouldn't work anymore. With a rebuildable, I feel like I could just rewick and dry burn for months.

Cons-
learning curve. You do have to learn how to build a decent coil, and sometimes this takes some work. You have to learn a bit about ohms and voltages and such.
Convenience- rebuilding can be less convenient. You can't just pull a new coil out of your pocket and pop it in your tank.