The low down on the new HC's new APV Spring "Problem"

Status
Not open for further replies.

JamesK852

Nov 2, 2012
Australia
Hey guys, if you have been following HC's section on ECF much you might notice some commotion of the "spring defect" of their new APV's after a quick glance, a few measurements with my verniers here is a couple tidbits of information you would like to know to fully understand what is going on here.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an engineer, my professional field is IT but I have an interest of both mechanical and electrical engineering, I should be considered very much a NOOB when it comes to these things, all I am doing is reporting my findings and assumptions. None of this is supported by a deep understanding of engineering. Sorry this is a little confusing it is hard to explain without diagrams.

TLDR: Flattop batteries are too short, use button tops or one a protected battery which has a diameter of < 18.5 mm

OK so is there really a problem with these battery springs? Short answer: No. Long Answer: No. It's not a "defect" problem, more of a "lack of recommendation/information" problem.

Most HC consumers who bought this device, who have never used an APV or did not have their own batteries, would have more then likely paired it with the flat top Joyetech battery HC sells as well (This assumption is based on the fact that HC recommends this battery on the APV's product page, along with being sold out with the APV's). Flat top 18650 DO work in this battery BUT it doesn't seem to provide enough length to compress the spring to a point where the amount of force is sufficient to sustain a connection during any sort of movement of the device.

The Joyetech battery has these dimensions

Listed
vs Actual
Diameter: 18 mm vs 18.16 mm
Length: 65 mm vs 65 mm

Spring Measurements:
Diameter of spring wire: .52 mm
Outer diameter of spring (Since the spring is not uniform this is the measurement of the middle coil): 7.3 mm
Free length of spring: 8.63 mm