Battery Charging Frequency

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldleatherlungs

Nov 22, 2013
Midlands UK
I'm new to vaping and have been spending a lot of time on the web trying to get educated and I have a query about how often you should charge batteries for you PV.

These batteries do not suffer from the memory effect of Ni-Cad ones so it it's not necessary to completely discharge them before putting them back on charge, but is it best to charge them little and often.
I see references to the number of typical charge cycles a battery will last for so will charging more often shorten the life of the battery.
I have 2 Innokin Itaste vv/vw v3.0 which indicate state of charge but at the moment I don't wait for the lights to show red - I put them on recharge when they drop below 3.8 volts and charge them until the green light goes off to indicate full charge at 4.2 volts. Am I doing the right thing ?

DetraMental

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Mar 31, 2013
United States
I've wondered this exact thing so I tend to let mine die and then charge them. I have plenty of back-ups so it's no problem if one dies or if two or three die, I'll still have one to do the job. I was told it wasn't a good idea to let them die, I can't remember why....stupid short-term memory. Hopefully someone with the knowledge we seek will be by soon.

TheVaporBear

Verified Member
May 8, 2009
Plymouth, MN
Hey guys,

I have not had a lot of issues with my batts over the years - When I started vaping in 2008, I used unprotected RCR-123A's, and had charging issues, as they didn't last for long at all (good charging ratio's & times).

However, I use either AW IMR 18650's or MNKE 18650's, and have not had any issues with them lasting less.

The protected one's are ALWAYS the best, and will last the longest.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Rader2146

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 11, 2012
Waco, TX