Anyone vaped in the Hospital yet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

minedbojo

Jun 26, 2009
San Pedro, CA
I work in a Hospital and smoking is severely restricted; only in designated areas. I struggle with smoking at work due to the interaction I have with staff and patients. These people can smell me a mile away! And they can be rough; i've been told "why are you working to save people and killing yourself".:oops: I know...I know..I get it. Oh by the way I am a Biomed Technician not a nurse.
I wonder what there reaction would be; should I still smoke in the smoking section. Should I smoke freely and hold my ground; don't know how to deal with it yet.:confused: Has anyone been through this? let me know how it went. I could use some pointers here.:|

dedmonwakin

ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2009
Destin,FL.
I don't believe you should.

Although, we all feel these are safer alternatives to smoking than the conventional way, this gets misconstrued as safer for everyone. If your vapin nicotine, your exhaling a degree of poison. Hospitals are sensitive environments. I'm sure you don't intend on smoking in the ER or intensive care, but you should realize that there is such a thing as violation of rights/airspace. There is a big difference to rights to subject yourself to and rights to subject other's to.

Also, just as important, hospitals follow OSHA guidelines. Many hospitals can't even allow the use of aerosol cleaners or even allow patients to use Aerosol hairspray. You should really check with your Hospital Administration. You as an employee, could lose your job if you attempt to vape without permission.

This is one place that you don't want to test without extending courtesy to others and for yourself.

Ehvam

ECF Veteran
Jun 21, 2009
New York, NY