What are the differences between these coil builds?

Status
Not open for further replies.

twolostminds

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 23, 2009
Building coils and ever learning....
What are the differences between these coil builds? juice usage? Vapor production? Flavor?

Setup: Sig 30 @ 18Watts, hcigar Kayfun 3.1 ES

Coil 1: AWG A1 30 gauge
1.0 Ohm 4 wraps around 2mm bit

Coil 2: AWG A1 28 gauge
1.0 Ohm 6 wraps around 2mm bit

Coil 3: AWG A1 26 gauge
1.0 Ohm 9.5 wraps around 2mm bit

Using Organic Cotton wick's

Will the 26 gauge, having the most wraps, produce greater vapor and flavor? Will the 30 gauge having the highest resistance per inch burn the hottest? Which one will eat the battery the fastest? I am a sponge, pour your knowledge upon me :p

CloudZ

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 21, 2012
Minneapolis, MN
I'm no expert at all but my understanding of electricity means the 26 would give you the hottest coil AND therefore most vapor production. More vapor = more flavor. 30 does have the higher resistance meaning its more resistant to heating up. Not to mention the surface area on the 26g.
No offense, but absolutely wrong. The 26 gauge will be the coolest and heat up the slowest because it has the highest volume. It also has the largest surface area, but this will not matter at 1 ohm. 28 or 29 gauge is the best for 1 ohm.

twolostminds

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 23, 2009
Ok, so I've been using Coil 2 on my HCigar Kayfun 3.1 ES's for a while now and like the way they vape but I am looking for a bit more flavor and maybe a little more vapor production.

Coil 2: AWG A1 28 gauge
1.0 Ohm 6 wraps around 2mm bit

I have 30, 28 & 26 AWG A1 kanthal, 2mm ekowool and a bunch of boiled organic cotton balls. I really like the flavor improvement since I switched to cotton.