Taste issues with Kanger Subtank Mini.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

homeby5

May 12, 2015
I am new to the mod world and I entered the foray with an IStick 30 and a Kanger Subtank Mini. When I use an old cheapo tank that came off an earlier Ego my juice taste fine. It's a 2.7 ohm coil set at 7.5 watts at 4.5 volts.The problem is the taste with my Kanger hooked up. It is very harsh. I also do not get the same visible exhaust (sorry, but I can't think of another term :) ) I operate it at about the same watts. I have tried both a sub ohm coil and a 1.2 ohm coil. I have also tried different air intake settings. One thing to note: The cheapo tank gives me a much tighter draw (It's harder to draw in the air). I have adjusted the Kanger down to the smallest inlet and the resistance still seems very easy.

Would the difference in resistance of the coils affect the taste with running the same power. Do some juices just not taste good with different tanks? I must be doing something wrong. Maybe I assembled it wrong by leaving out something but for the life of me I can't see what? I did insert a little piece of cotton in one of the coils which was foreign to me.

Any ideas? Fire away and don't assume anything. Again, I am ignorant with these mods so I am learning here. Thanks a bunch :)

Sir2fyablyNutz

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 22, 2015
West Virginia, USA
hi homeby5. Most people who move into the Subtank area greatly decrease their nicotine level in the juice. The Subtank is somewhat of a guzzler compared to the eGo tanks. The better the delivery device the more nicotine you'll get. Nicotine can be harsh. On my Subtanks I use the 1.2 ohm coil, small single airflow, and vape at 15 to 18 watts. It is a much airier draw, so I got smaller opening drip tips, as I am a mouth to lung type of vape.