1. Win Vaping gear! The ECF 15 Millionth Post contest

    We are fast approaching the 15 millionth ECF post and we have a contest to celebrate this huge landmark and amazing prizes to give out to our members! Head over to the official contest thread to see the rules and check out the prizes generously pledged by our registered suppliers on the prize announcement thread.

Howto build a mechanical box mod (VIDEO TUTORIAL)

Discussion in 'Modding Forum' started by uselessmidget, Aug 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. uselessmidget

    uselessmidget Full Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Location:
    Illinois
    Finally got around to making the video! Lots of people have asked me about my box mods so here is how I do it!

     
  2. Wiccan85

    Wiccan85 Senior Member Verified Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Location:
    Dardanelle, Arkansas, United States
    He built this mod for me I can't wait to have it in my hands.
     
  3. AaronY

    AaronY Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Santa Monica
    Great job A2Zvaping. I like the step by step approach. I think it is still too complicated for me. Congrads for getting your sister of analogs. How many people did you inspire to switch over to vaping?
     
  4. uselessmidget

    uselessmidget Full Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Location:
    Illinois
    So far just 2 but you never know!
     
  5. TruckerMSA

    TruckerMSA Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
    Nice job but that's not a mechanical box mod, it's a switch box mod. There's nothing mechanical about it, this is my opinion.
     
  6. uselessmidget

    uselessmidget Full Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Location:
    Illinois
    I think it could be argued that the switch is just as mechanical as a tube mod. It takes physical force to connect 2 contacts & each component is connected via wire instead of passing through the mod.
    Never heard of anyone referring to them as that but thanks.
     
  7. Wiccan85

    Wiccan85 Senior Member Verified Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Location:
    Dardanelle, Arkansas, United States
    A mechanical weather its a box or tube is the absence of any electrical board or limiter. So if you put a kick in a tube mech you basically remove the mechanical aspect.
     
  8. TruckerMSA

    TruckerMSA Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
    The wires is what makes it not a mechanical mod, in my opinion.
     
  9. disturbed1

    disturbed1 Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    CT
    The definition of mechanical is no wires. A Reo is mechanical.
     
  10. Wiccan85

    Wiccan85 Senior Member Verified Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Location:
    Dardanelle, Arkansas, United States
    A mechanical switch is the same regardless of wires. Once you add a chip that alters the power in someway you switch over from mechanical. As long as there are no chips to fry its mechanical wires don't mean jack. the wires are only taking place of the metal tube for the electrical flow.
     
  11. disturbed1

    disturbed1 Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    CT
    Not trying to be snide or anything but I think if you go to the modding part of the forum and ask the same question(What is the definition of a mechanical mod) You will get a different answer. By all means I could be wrong. I am not a modding expert. I have but a few mods including a BF box mod. I am 95% sure mechanical= no wires.
     
  12. TruckerMSA

    TruckerMSA Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
    The switch and the wires are the limiter in my opinion.
     
  13. Wiccan85

    Wiccan85 Senior Member Verified Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Location:
    Dardanelle, Arkansas, United States
    Well I have the mech box in my hands and am running it at .3 ohm no problems. Not to mention it hits harder than my natural mech.
     
  14. TruckerMSA

    TruckerMSA Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
    What's the amp rating on the switch and what kind of battery are you using?
     
  15. Wiccan85

    Wiccan85 Senior Member Verified Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Location:
    Dardanelle, Arkansas, United States
    Not sure on the amp of the switch would have to ask uselessmidget. I am using a sony vtc5 battery. I use a trident dripper and it hits harder on the box mod compared to my natural mech.
     
  16. TruckerMSA

    TruckerMSA Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
    Oh ok, so your the one he built that mod for, nice. But let's think about this, he installed a 10 amp switch in your mod and your using a sony VTC 5 30 amp battery which is putting out everything it can when you hit that switch. Now, picture in your mind what will happen when that 10 amp switch fails and 30 amps is being pushed thru it. When that happens, the switch is either gonna lock in the off postion which will cause a dead short or it's gonna lock in the on postion and dmg will occur and possibly battery failure which will explode. the wiring is gonna melt cause he used 14 gauge stranded wire and the only way to stop it is to take the battery out all because he used a 10 amp switch. It might not fail today or even in a week but eventually it will fail on you. When building a mod especially a switch mech mod as I call it, safety is the utmost importance and in my opinion, that box he built is not safe. And the interesting part is, in the video he recommends a 35 amp switch which is what he should have used and I would have used 14 awg solid copper wire.
     
  17. disturbed1

    disturbed1 Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    CT
    I was not discrediting the box mod. I think he did a very nice job on it from what I could see. I was just saying it was not a mech because of the wires. Its a great feeling when you get a nice vape on a home made mod.
     
  18. TruckerMSA

    TruckerMSA Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
    I agree however the hardware he used is not safe in my opinion.
     
  19. TruckerMSA

    TruckerMSA Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
    Let me add, I think it's a beautiful mod, I just think he used the wrong switch and I just don't want anyone to get hurt. I am a mod maker and I take safety very important when I build my mods for people. That's all I'm saying.
     
  20. disturbed1

    disturbed1 Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    CT
    I have to correct you on one part. He used a hammond aluminium box and I think he said he drilled a vent hole in it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page