Status
Not open for further replies.

jjatl

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 12, 2015
Georgia
Hi,

I just created an account so that I could stop lurking and introduce myself. I have been smoking a pack of cigarettes daily for 15 years. I have attempted to quit on several occasions, and the longest I was able to make it was 3 months. The nicotine gum didn't work for me. It just tastes horrible, and the patch was no help at all. The 2 problems that are the hardest for me to overcome have been the habit of smoking, and using it as a crutch to help relieve stress.

Since I have been smoking my entire adult life, everything has always included cigarettes - having a cigarette in the morning with coffee, after a meal, taking a break from the desk at work, road trips, drinking. I could go on and on. That whole routine has seemed insurmountable to change.

Smoking has also been my go to when trying to relax, decompress, and think. Every time that I have quit, that has always been what brings me back to smoking. Something happens that causes anxiety, and at the time, the only thing that I rationalize at the moment is to buy a pack of cigarettes.

I do honestly really want to quit!!! I cannot stand smelling so horrible. I hate the stains i get on my teeth. I hate the amount of money it all costs. It really bothers me that I routinely harm my body, and probably shorten my life, and I feel powerless to change it.

That was all up until last week.