Nicotine and Insurance Companies

Status
Not open for further replies.

simplyme82

ECF Veteran
Sep 12, 2011
Murrieta, CA
So, I've been trying to get life insurance for a little while now. I started the process in early January. I just got a phone call today letting me know that I have been approved for insurance, but at a higher cost than I was previously quoted for. Double the cost to be exact due to smoking. They found in my medical records that I smoked, which was true.

I have been vaping for about 6-7 months now. Not one smoke. Not one tobacco leaf. Either way, the guy says he wants me to help him help me. "Help me help you." So I ask him what he needs. He says that after 10 months, I can reapply and get the smokers rate removed as long as I have not been smoking. I tell him no problem. I don't smoke or use tobacco products. He then says that I just need to setup 3 doctors appointments throughout the rest of the year. Spread them out over the 10 month period, so that when I reapply, they can see something from my doctors saying that I am tobacco free. I say no problem. Can do!

Then I remember, I just had my yearly physical. One of the questions asked is, "Do you smoke or use tobacco products?" Of course my answer is no, but I let them know that I do use a nicotine product that I would relate to using the patch. They make a note in my records. I see the doc and she asks questions about the product. I show her and she's glad that I'm not smoking cigarettes anymore. Nothing much said about the product.

So I bring this to the attention of the insurance guy and he says that insurance companies claim that e-cigarettes fall under the category of a tobacco product even though there is no tobacco. He also says that I would get a better rate if I used a smokeless tobacco product. I laughed my .... off and was about to get ......, but realized that I can't be mad at him. He's not the company. He's just providing me the information.