Ohm's Law and Vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

BadHabit

ECF Veteran
Sep 28, 2010
Ego
It has been a looooong time since I studied E = I over R but now that I am a vaper, perhaps I need to hit the books again.

I cannot understand why a low resistance atty would burn hotter than a higher resistance one. Resistance is, after all, resistance, and the more of it there is, the more current has to fight to get through. Or is my ohms law bass ackwards?

I hope this will be answered by someone who knows the basics of ohms law.

It also seems to mean that what we are taking about is the production of energy. The more of it, the more the vape - well at least until it starts frying. I would think that it isn't so much about voltage and resistance but the relation between the two. In theory, at least, I would think the same thing could be accomplished with different atties of different voltages and resistances as long as the relationship between the two produce the same amount of energy.

However, I could understand that the amount of coil exposure to the juice and the size and shape of the atty also come into play.

Katya

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2010
SoCal
You are correct. It is about the relationship between the voltage and resistance, and power (heat) created. That's why the term 'high voltage vaping' is so misleading. We really should be talking about 'high wattage vaping'. The formula for wattage is voltage squared divided by resistance. And yes, you can get the same wattage from different voltages by just using different resistance attys.

Kent explains it very well here:

http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/fo...cts-maam-no-chit-chat-please.html#post1687242

And here's a handy little calculator. Just plug in the numbers.

Online Conversion - Ohm's Law Calculator

Hope this helps.

Last edited:

BadHabit

ECF Veteran
Sep 28, 2010
Ego