Status
Not open for further replies.

MonkeyTokes

Unresolved Status
ECF Veteran
May 12, 2014
Collegeville, PA
I'm working on a new box mod and wanted to try something a bit different. Instead of having a master switch or button to allow switch two to fire the mod I was thinking maybe a touch sensor or something similar placed in one of the sides. I've come across arduino touch modules for super cheap but I have no experience with these. Does anybody have ant idea If they'd work or of some other sensor that could work?

Zanderist

ECF Veteran
Feb 5, 2014
I have done a non v aping related experiment with a touch sensor, and from what I can remember is that it does work. I used a single mosfet to accomplish this.

The problem faced by this is that if you hands are very moist as in lightly sweaty and you touch the sensor you risk having some moisture deposited which will keep the unit firing.

So I'd say give a go but figure out how to make it safe.

Zanderist

ECF Veteran
Feb 5, 2014
Are you talking about something like this?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFo2Wy5yDtA

See when I here people talk about touch switches in mods I instantly think to the experiment in one of radio shacks electronics kits.

Now for that to have a fail safe maybe design it with AND logic, as in you need to have more than one finger touching across copper or any conductive metal plates to turn in on. How I see it

+V----(||)------(||)------Gate Pin

Visus

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 4, 2013
United States

tehdarkaura

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 12, 2014
CO
capacitive touch sensors are affected by water and moisture... just like our phones since that is what they use...

Atmel is the company that produces the best touch sensors, and its also the company who produces the AVR's that power the arduinos so most AVR's have this functionality in them.