Status
Not open for further replies.

Arnie H

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 25, 2013
Greensboro, NC, USA
www.bigtent.com
I believe we must always seek to understand a phenomena, a behavior, an illness, a culture, etc before coming to any sort of conclusions, and even then I think we should be cautious. A scientific approach accompanied by much research and study is best in my opinion.

So, it is in this manner, that I wish to try to understand why some vapers sub-ohm and others don't. I've been vaping for over 10 months now and have yet to feel the need to sub-ohm. I seem to be satisfied in the 1.5-2.0 ohm range. But many of my friends sub-ohm and I often ask myself what differentiates them from myself? If you are a sub-ohmer, please assist me in a survey of sorts:

1. I was a relatively light smoker for 25 years, a half pack a day at most (usually around 8 cigarettes a day). Could the urge/need to sub-ohm be related to how much and for how long a person smoked, or perhaps the strength of the cigarettes they smoked? I.e. Are former heavy smokers more likely to sub-ohm than light smokers?

2. With the above in mind, Is sub ohming a choice in your opinion? Do people do it just to "chase clouds" and for fun, or is there a need which is somehow not being satisfied with normal resistance vaping?

3. The sub-ohmers I've spoken with have indicated to me that sub-ohming generally doesn't require as much nicotine content as regular resistance vaping. Is there a desire to cut back on nicotine intake which motivates sub-ohming?

4. Should I just shut up and start sub-ohming already? :) Am I missing out on an incredible experience?

I certainly believe that sub-ohming can be done safely, so I'm not bashing it in any way, just trying to understand.

Thanks, and I appreciate any and all responses.

Last edited:

AntnyMikal

ECF Veteran
Mar 3, 2014
Clarksville, TN, USA
I was maybe half a pack a day smoker too,