Battery usage question

Status
Not open for further replies.

malkuth

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 29, 2013
Gray, TN, USA
I have been using a single grand exclusively for about 6 months now (this is my only mod). When I first started using it, I would get an entire day from one battery. Now, using those same batteries, I am going through 3 batteries per day. (They are AW IMR 2000 batteries.) My juice usage has actually decreased in that same 6 months. When I first started, I was using a bottle per day. Now I am using between 1/2 to 3/4 of a bottle per day. I pull my batteries (usually) between 3.6 and 3.7 volts. The lowest (in my memory) that I have let the battery go is about 3.5 volts. I have three batteries in rotation, so they get to rest about a day between being charged and used. I always check them before inserting them in the REO, and they are 4.21 (one is 4.20).

Is this an indication that these batteries are failing? Should I just replace them (and thank them for their valiant service)?

I am using a RM2, 28 awg with 8/9 wraps on a 5/64 mandrel (about 1.2 - 1.3 ohm) and XC-132 wick.

Funk Dracula

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 7, 2013
Earth
It sounds unlikely that three batteries sharing cycling duties would go bad that quickly. A battery being used one out of every three days for 6 months is like 60 charge cycles, they should last 4 times that amount. I'd look into the charger... Or a dirty firing pin is causing wasted and inefficient discharge of the battery when firing.

malkuth

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 29, 2013
Gray, TN, USA
It sounds unlikely that three batteries sharing cycling duties would go bad that quickly. A battery being used one out of every three days for 6 months is like 60 charge cycles, they should last 4 times that amount. I'd look into the charger... Or a dirty firing pin is causing wasted and inefficient discharge of the battery when firing.