Can I use THIS PG?

Status
Not open for further replies.

coffee

Aug 12, 2010
EU
Hello everybody, great forum, amazing community :)

I'm new to all this and would really appreciate some help.

Not being in the US, my shopping options are severely limited. Rather than mentioning other buying options etc, I'd really, really, appreciate it if you can tell me if the following PG is considered suitable for e-liquid. The accompanying Material Safety Data Sheet sounds very scary, but if you confirm otherwise, I'll ignore it.

(remove the spaces to fix the links as I can't post links yet)
PG: dudadiesel. com / choose_item.php?id=propgly
MSDS: dudadiesel. com / msds / propyleneglycol.pdf

Thanks and happy vaping :)

Last edited:

Hoosier

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jan 26, 2010
Indiana
I went again over that MSDS linked in the OP and there are a few things that worry me sick. It says:

-"ASPIRATION HAZARD IF SWALLOWED CAN ENTER LUNGS AND CAUSE DAMAGE"

-"THIS PRODUCT IS NOT TO BE USED TO PRODUCE FOGS OR MISTS IN THEATRICAL, MUSICAL, OR OTHER ENTERTAINMENT PERFORMANCES"

I donno, is the USP PG you use talked about this way too?

So it's fine if you don't swallow it into your lungs and if you don't use it in a fog machine? And this is a problem... how?

Fog machines use PG as a base, the fog juice actually contains more than just PG. If it was pure PG, the floor would get incredibly slippery.

And most any liquid is bad for the lungs if it is ingested that way.

Were you looking for a liquid that can be ingested into the lungs and used as a mist for musicals, or a base for E-juice?

(Look further on the MSDS and it should say that PG vapor is a lung irritant which is where some of the throat hit comes from.)

Seabrook

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Mar 17, 2010
Oceanside, CA
I see that your question has been answered for you, so I will just say Welcome to ECF.