Choking/coughing when vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

yovengo

ECF Veteran
Dec 27, 2014
Houston,TX,USA
Hi there! Im new to vaping and my first set up is the Aspire Atlantis tank on the Ipv2s. I've been getting some good clouds on this for about a week or 2 w/ no problems and for some odd reason just yesterday I was vaping with some friends and I would choke when taking a long hit. And all through the night I couldn't take no long hits with chokinh/coughing. I thought it might be I overfilled it but I cleaned it out and my friends were taking hits with no problem and they are new to it too. So does anyone know why I choke and cough when taking a long hit?

Rsunderl

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 4, 2014
Silver Spring, MD, USA
dragon welcome2.jpg
Hi yovengo and welcome to ECF!

Your throat is being irritated and there are several possibilities for that.

• Your body getting used to vaping.
    Vapor isn't like smoke. It has larger particles than smoke, and it could be your body getting used to the new sensation.

• Getting dehydrated.
    Vaping actually draws water from your body to produce the vapor. It's therefore important to take in plenty of liquids while vaping. Some folks do water, some fruit juices, and some even put just a bit of apple cider vinegar into a glass of water. I do this myself sometimes - sounds yucky, but it actually helps your body to absorb the water, and if you use just a little bit of the vinegar, it's not bad.

• The flavor of the juice.
    Flavors like cinnamon or menthol are natural irritants. That's why they work so well as an over-the-counter congestion relief remedy. Trying a milder flavor might help. (although cinnamon IS really tasty LOL!).

• The nicotine content of the juice.