Cleaning Clearos With PGA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Prolix

Verified Member
Jul 28, 2013
Minneapolis, MN, USA
As a newbie, I had just been rinsing my tanks with water and air drying. Read in another post how people were cleaning with Pure Grain Alcohol (PGA). Is there a consensus that PGA is the best substance to use for cleaning?

Is that also what I should clean my coil heads with?

I live in one of those states of the US where older puritanical standards still have some hold (e.g. liquor stores are closed on Sunday), so 190 proof PGA like Everclear isn't available in stores. Is using denatured alcohol alright as well, or is that ill-advised since some of the additives could be left in my tank? I can cross a state line and obtain Everclear easily enough, if needed.

Just Logan

May 18, 2013
United States
Some people swear by cleaning with it, I've seen some people just use vodka. Personally, I just use really hot water. I would start with water and if that doesn't do the trick then maybe just try vodka and if that's not enough just use everclear. None of it will hurt anything. As long as it's food safe your not going to do any real damage.

Choc_Addic

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 26, 2013
Caldicote tunnel
There are different people and prefers different ways of doing so. I myself have never had the need to use anything other than rinse with hot water, dry burn and rinse and dry..... Now if the old taste persists it may require other means.

If you can't get rid of the old taste than it may be worth while. It may also be worth while to get extra coil heads and/or cleros for less than price of GAS?

Cheers.

BlueMoods

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 19, 2010
USA - Arkansas