Not open for further replies.

Fidola13

Totally Stashed!
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 20, 2017
Boston
I have a coil master kit and love it. But I’ve always been curious as to what the tough or cut out is on the coil jig tool.

Does anyone know? I’m guessing the other holes are for right and left handed winding. Or maybe clockwise or counter clockwise. Is there any difference in the coils if winding away from or towards me. I use to wind it towards me or counter clockwise but somewhere along the line was suggested to wind clockwise. I honestly don’t know why.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend. Go Bruins!!

1BAABC50-AFF6-455A-9E9D-EE2C0B3BB38D.jpeg

Letitia

Citrus Junkie
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 2, 2017
West Frankfort, IL
I have a coil master kit and love it. But I’ve always been curious as to what the tough or cut out is on the coil jig tool.

Does anyone know? I’m guessing the other holes are for right and left handed winding. Or maybe clockwise or counter clockwise. Is there any difference in the coils if winding away from or towards me. I use to wind it towards me or counter clockwise but somewhere along the line was suggested to wind clockwise. I honestly don’t know why.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend. Go Bruins!!

View attachment 812037
It's to lay your wire in. I just hold the wire with my thumb usually.

Fidola13

Totally Stashed!
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 20, 2017
Boston
It's to lay your wire in. I just hold the wire with my thumb usually.

Say what??? How would that work? The wire comes out (or goes in) of the side which I hold down with my thumb as well.

So instead of holding it via thumb it gets turned 180 degs up to the cap? I’m having a hard time visualizing this. Maybe it adds more tension? if you can figure out how to do it though.

Fidola13

Totally Stashed!
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 20, 2017
Boston