Coil question

Status
Not open for further replies.

er767

ECF Veteran
Jun 4, 2012
nj
Hi all, I'm fairly new to vaping, and love it already. The only thing I can't stand is going through coils like crazy. I've been reading multiple posts on cleaning etc. My question is, once they start to leak, are they completely shot? I'm only getting a few days, if I'm lucky, out of a coil. I'm using an aero tank mini, an I clear 30, an aspire bdc, and a lotus. I don't want to keep buying coils are this rate, and can't stand when in the middle of the day, they just start gurgling etc...
Thanks for any advice.

FallenRawToast

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Mar 30, 2014
LA, CA, USA, NA, SOL
Your coil, if it is new, old or rebuilt has nothing to do with gurgling. (This doesnt apply to rebuildable tanks, with those.. having too much or too little wick can cause gurgle)

You know you need to replace or rebuild a coil, only when you start getting burnt taste or less vape. This is only because the wick material inside the coil has gunked up with stuff (left over remnants of the flavoring) that hasnt burnt off or is caramelized.

Gurgle, normally means there is liquid trapped in the stem between the coil and the top of the drip tip. This can be cause either by bad o-ring, fake coils that are poorly cloned, or from condensation. The O-ring problem is easy to spot, are they damaged and do they seat properly? Dont buy cheap knockoff coils! And for the condensation issue.. always continue to suck air for a half a second to a second after you release the fire button.

AzPlumber

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 28, 2011
Arizona
I guess it's possible that your coils get so gunked up that they restrict air flow causing you to suck harder and draw excess liquid into the atomizing chamber. The only true fix is to use a cleaner liquid that doesn't load up your coils as fast.

Have you tried different voltages or different coil resistance (ohms) to see if either would help?

FallenRawToast