Coils clogging fast with Cotton. What am I doing wrong?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eJohn

ECF Veteran
Aug 13, 2013
NJ, USA
Hello all!

I have been using a genni for nearly 2 years now and have recently purchased the Squape Reloaded atomizer. I have the Wide deck which I've loaded up with some organic cotton I got from Walgreens. I have watched the videos on YouTube about loading up the cotton and followed them to a T. The initial performance (vapor and taste) is sublime but the problem that I'm having is that it quickly starts to degrade.

First, I notice a change in taste and when I unscrew the atty to look at the coils, they are clogged on the outsides of the micro coil in a brown residue that extends onto the cotton. I have to change the cotton twice a day to fix the issue. I also notice that once I remove the cotton and give the coil a good dry burn, it clogs even faster after I put in the new cotton.

Is this a known issue with cotton? Am I using the wrong type of cotton? Do I HAVE to boil it before using? That would be a chore.

I tried lifting the micro coil (6/7 wrap of 24 g Kenthal @ 0.8 Ohms) to sit a little higher on the deck and that resulted in a little better performance but the clogging still occurs to where I have to change it twice a day.

I'm using a heavier VG type of premium liquid that's nearly clear in color. The same liquid on my Kraken genni lasts days before I have to clean the coils.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

InTheShade

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 26, 2013
South Texas
Only time I have had that brown residue on the cotton is when I used too much. It chokes the wick and you end up with this weird partially burnt wick.

Just try using much less cotton than you think you need. Yes, there is a chance you might flood, but this gunking after such a short time isn't normal - so change something up.

I can get a good 3/4 tankfuls of Bobas through my kayfun without having to change the wicks.