Committing to Quitting: one week at a time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewieya

Jan 11, 2013
Baltimore
There are so many categories in this forum, I'm not sure if this is the right one to post to! Ahk! I posted the first one in the new members forum. This is sort of a continuation from that... put in a better spot, I think. :p

Just wanted to say, when I posted, I committed to not smoke a cigarette for one week. I had my last cigarette around 11am EST last Thursday. In two hours, I will have made it one week! Part of doing this one week at a time is because it's hard for me to say I'll NEVER smoke a stinky again. I just don't have it in me to say that. I WANT and NEED to never smoke a cigarette again, but I have been doing it for most of twenty years, so it's hard to say it. I once read a post here on the forums in which someone said they are "married to vaping, but having an affair with cigarettes"- that this person occasionally smokes. Honestly, I don't even want to do that. I hope to be done, but I'm only committing to a short period at a time.

Another reason why I am doing it this way is money. I spent my cigarette money on vaping stuff. So I really can't afford to budget in cigarettes for a while.

This time, I'm going to try, very hard to not have a cigarette between now and next Friday, April 11. If I make it, at that time I will commit to a new time frame- should I make it, and not smoke. If I do smoke, I want to try to start over. Not smoke starting that day and commit to another week or so.

Has anyone else done it like this? If not, what was your sort of "mental work" to quit? Any tips and additional encouragement to what was given on my first post would be appreciated too!

Thanks everyone, in advance. :)

FourWinds

ECF Veteran
Jan 30, 2014
UK
I did all that mental prep, but then I got lucky: I didn't even want one after trying vaping (30yr smoker reaching 40 a day at the end!).