Status
Not open for further replies.

Jazzi Mike

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 3, 2013
Michigan
I started building microcoils around 2-3 weeks ago. I have been building my own coils for quite some time now, so it is not like I am a newbie. I picked up some Meijer sterile cotton balls. They seem to work on par with the CVS Sterile cotton balls. I would build a coil, mash it together when the coil was hot. Then, I would wick it with cotton. At first, I was using way too much. I lessened it and I had okay results, for maybe the first 2 hours. Then it would just start tasting like my atty was full of gunk. I have tried around 20 different ways to wick the micro coil and it was just the same.

Last night, I wrapped a regular coil around 1.5mm Ekowool and pushed all the wraps together like a microcoil. No more frustration, excellent flavor, and huge vapor production. I rediscovered why it was I fell in love with my Reo in the first place.

Ryedan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2012
Ontario, Canada
I started building microcoils around 2-3 weeks ago. I have been building my own coils for quite some time now, so it is not like I am a newbie. I picked up some Meijer sterile cotton balls. They seem to work on par with the CVS Sterile cotton balls. I would build a coil, mash it together when the coil was hot. Then, I would wick it with cotton. At first, I was using way too much. I lessened it and I had okay results, for maybe the first 2 hours. Then it would just start tasting like my atty was full of gunk. I have tried around 20 different ways to wick the micro coil and it was just the same.

I do find micro coils change after a few hours. I do not find they taste gunked up though unless I put too much cotton in the coil. I know you reduced the cotton you use but it may still be too much. OTOH, everyone does not appreciate the same setup ;). Glad you found something that works for you.

BobC

Reformed Squonker
ECF Veteran
Verified Member