Not open for further replies.

Brutus Buckeye

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 9, 2010
Body in Knoxville, TN
www.facebook.com
No, not unless they're specifically looking for Cotinine, which is the metabolite of nicotine.

This is correct. I work in the drug testing business and this is the only concern, Most testing for this is for insurance purposes and we are seeing it in school athletics related testing and also some medical field positions.

danielwd

ECF Veteran
Oct 5, 2009
This is correct. I work in the drug testing business and this is the only concern, Most testing for this is for insurance purposes and we are seeing it in school athletics related testing and also some medical field positions.

Okay, now I'm interested. Another question - I am applying for a school administration job - assistant principalship.

Anything to worry about?

Katatonik

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jan 14, 2011
Dallas, TX
1. It can if they're like Mauzey is referring to.
2. It could hurt in medical insurance issues. Some companies don't hire smokers at all, and some hire smokers with limited medical insurance. Depends on the company or (in your case) the school district/state laws. I don't know if medical insurance is based on tobacco use, or nicotine use. E-cigs are a little new and so I don't think the distinction has been thoroughly evaluated in terms of insurance coverage.

danielwd

ECF Veteran
Oct 5, 2009
From the input...the next question would be, if they do test for "continine", and a positive test shows, is there any way they can tell the distinction between a nonsmoker and a smoker. Is there any other chemical they look for that IS in tabacco that is of course NOT in e-liquid?

This would not be fair - to limit someone's insurance because they vape. Vaping and smoking are like apples and oranges!