eGo/EVOD confusion ...and evolution

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToutC

Jul 9, 2016
Hi folks, I'm a newbie from Germany (= six years behind in vaping, but not vapo-politicking, oh no). The e-cig or "e-shisha" has only recently entered public conciousness over here, as a side effect of fearmongering over its health effects. So as a long-time smoker, I absolutely had to get one.

Most starter kits over here are sold as eGo/EVOD, and I'd like to know what's what.

As to all ancient history that I missed, the Wikipedia article is pretty clear who invented the eGo series, but they left out the 510/Kanger(?) affair, if it's Kanger that they left out.
-- Did Kanger(tech) invent the term "EVOD", and what does it stand for - electric voiding device odd design? ...if anything? What are its features?
-- Who invented the 510 threading, and is it older/younger than eGo, or does eGo mean both inner + outer (510) thread? Is/was there a purely inner-thread eGo device?

Everybody always tries to sell you things, almost nowhere do I find decent info on their history/evolution (with pictures, please). The Wikipedia article reads like after the Zeppelin age of "e-cigars" the slim cigarette-lookalikes came first (510 thread = ~ 7mm), but these are rather underpowered affairs and the 14500-sized eGos followed.

eGo-EVOD.png

Sideline question:
-- Who introduced the five-click safety feature and the blinkenlights (charge status indicator)?

djsvapour

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Oct 2, 2012
England and Wales
I could try and tell you what I *remember* but it would take too long.
BUT
Yes... as far as I know, Kanger invented the word EVOD and it started with a tank (clearomiser). Then they sold EVOD kits with an eGo battery and that's how that started.
The evod battery is mis-named, as it's just an eGo battery.