Explain the "Vape chart" to me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bored2Tears

Verified Member
Sep 26, 2014
Western South Dakota
OK. So, yes I am a noob...but I am confident I understand how ohms law works. I often see this chart referred to :
http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m9dkanCt0I1qc8949o2_1280.png

The chart makes complete sense to me. Here's my question. I read so many people vaping well outside the parameters of this chart. Many people reporting vaping at 13 watts or above on 1.2 ohm coils and the like. On my variable voltage device with usually 1.8 ohm coils, I get dry/ hot/ burnt hits on anything pushing 9 watts or above.

So please explain. Is it because of the wicking material that others are vaping much higher wattages? I am strictly on Kanger pre built coils which are a silica wick. How does everyone else seem to regularly vape at 13, 15, and 20 watts without burned coils and the like?

Also, if I get dual coils that measure 1.5 ohms, will that require any different power supply than a single coil measuring the same resistance? More power, less power? I currently have a battery that only gives VV at 3.6, 3.8, or 4.2 volts. If I have an 1.5 ohm dual coil atomizer, should I expect that to only produce dry/burnt hits?

Thanks.

Topwater Elvis

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2012
Texas
Used as a rough general starting point charts can be helpful for some folks.

My advice is to forget the charts and vape to taste, your taste.
No chart can take into account the enormous amount of variables; different delivery devices, coil/head type & resistances, airflow, pg/vg ratios, wicking material & ability, flavorings and most importantly personal preferences.

Start off at a low power and work your way up taking a vape or three on each setting until you find what you like best, if you get a burnt taste turn it down a little.

Bored2Tears

Verified Member
Sep 26, 2014
Western South Dakota