First coil build photos: help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Waxxiii

Jan 13, 2016
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

I'm just starting to build my own coils. I have so far done a dual coil build on a derringer clone RDA which has worked out great. The problem I'm having is with my Aromamizer. I'm getting a really horrid taste. It isn't a burnt coil taste so initially I thought it was perhaps machine oil since I hadn't cleaned out the tank before I used it. However, I have given it a clean now and put in a new coil and still it tastes bad. Since this is only the second and third time I've ever built a coil I'm thinking maybe I'm doing something wrong.

My first build was a dual coil vertical. It ohmed out at .43 which was what I was aiming for. I've included a photo. Perhaps I have done something glaringly wrong that, as a noob, I can't see myself. Unfortunately I haven't got a photo of the wicking but I followed a Rip Trippers tutorial pretty closely and I don't think the wick was wrong. Other than the bad taste it vaped perfectly.

I ripped out that build, washed everything thoroughly and put in a different build altogether. I thought maybe my coils were getting hotspots or burning the cotton so I figured I would do a completely different build and try a single coil and chances would be lessened that I would encounter the same problem. As before, everything went smoothly, it ohmed out at .93 which was right were I wanted to be again and it is vaping great apart from the fact it tastes awful. I've included a photo of the current build including the way I wicked it.

The taste is a metal, dirty kind of taste. I can't explain it a whole lot better than that. I hope I can get to the bottom of this. I had high hopes for my first RTA.

ckquatt

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 8, 2013
Milledgeville, GA