G-Priv 2 TC initial ohms adventure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eclipt

Mar 11, 2018
Hey there everyone! I'm pretty new to TC and eagerly waiting till DNA250C finally hits to get my hands on a decent chip. So far I've been using a smok G-Priv 2 and from watching reviews by DJLsb, I've got the impression that it can handle TC quite well. Thus, I decided to try it out while I wait for the 250C to come out.

Build:
Geekvape SS316l Stagger Fused Clapton (26+32)*2+32 (I know, it's huge, but for some reason the local shop only had this SS clapton)
Dual-Coil in a Kylin at 5 wraps/3mm, ohming 0.11 (0.10 pre-wicking) on Coil Master V3 kit ohm meter
G-Priv reads it at 0.121 (sometimes 0.117 with a good push)
Using SS mode at 92 TCR

Results:
1. Using the 0.117 read, with 100-110W, on-screen temp barely reaches ~85C and it's pushing warm-hot vapor
2. Manually setting initial ohm to 0.110 most I can see is 187C on screen with warm-hot vapor
3. Manually setting initial ohm to 0.107 I can feel it throttling at warm vape with 200C setting (feels like it's kinda working this way)

Discussion:
1. Is the G-Priv 2 so out of wack in TC? Or is it just mine that's crap with +0.01 read? Should I ask for a replacement?
2. Is it the wire that is too complex for TC? Will it work with a DNA250C?
3. If the mod is reading r +0.01 shouldn't it read the same +0.01 while firing at TC and thus measure the difference to estimate temp correctly? If so, why does it show such low temp with it's original ohm reading?
4. Do I have the theory messed up?

EDIT:
I did fail to mention that the initial pre-wicking read was around 0.111 on the mod, but my memory is a bit foggy from building during the night and some beer :) I am feeling that I will probably never see this reading again as my apartment is pretty warm (guessing 25C+). This might contribute to the results that I am getting.