Gold plating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chip_

ECF Veteran
Jul 23, 2011
Texas
Which does gold plating 'stick' better to: brushed or polished stainless? I would think brushed right? More surface area to grip?

When you are plating, it isn't surface area that effects the "grip". It is the type of bond that determines the "grip".

I have never plated Stainless Steel. So I guess I can't answer to the reliability of plating SS. But, I have seen a few others try and fail. Some tried to nickel plate first, then plate the gold on. But, the nickel wouldn't "grip" all that great. Others had great results with nickel first. Others just plate the SS without the nickel.

If it were me I would experiment, or look around for a business that does that sort of thing, and ask them. Each business will use different acids, and techniques. So it would help to see their results.

Chip_

ECF Veteran
Jul 23, 2011
Texas
I have zero experience with having items plated. Is electro-plating more durable? What's the alternative?

There is "Electro Plating" and then there is what's called "Immersion Gold". The immersion process is a chemical process.

For something like jewelry and things that will be handled alot, then the "Electro plate" would be more reliable.