Good basic info on starting to modify?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TreverT

Sep 10, 2010
Greensboro, NC
Hello all! Hope someone can throw me some useful links. I've seen a lot of links to folks selling mods, but not to info sites on modding itself. Is there any good place to go that spells out some basics about modding, and building your own? I'm speaking strictly in terms of matching batteries to atomizers, parts houses, some instructions and ideas on simple ways to start modding, etc.

For background, I am a professional pen turner and carver of smoking pipes. I think a lot of the turning skills on miniaturized parts that I've picked up from pen work would likely carry over well, but I'm fuzzy on the technical stuff - atomizer ratings, power required, etc.

To get a little more specific, I've got a Janty eGo that I love dearly, but when I look at it, I can't help but wonder if I could build something similar myself, but use some turned and sandblasted fossilized black bog oak for the body, instead of the standard black steel.

Thanks in advance for any links, starting tips, etc!

morepyro

ECF Veteran
Apr 5, 2010
Mooresville, NC
I don't know of any websites dedicated to modding. The aforementioned sub-forum of the ecf has a huge compilation of information on modding, but be prepared to spend a lot of time going through it to find what you want. I've lost days going through all of the good information, and lessons learned there, because I find it so interesting. I would recommend starting with the stickys.

A faster starting point may be to go to Welcome to MadVapes LLC and go to the "How To" section. A more distilled version of a lot of the modding information that can be found on the ecf. You can also purchase most of the necessary components at MadVapes. They have a good reputation amongst ecf members.

Hope this helps.

Jim

TreverT

Sep 10, 2010
Greensboro, NC