Help with wicking issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

samslice

Sep 7, 2018
American Midwest
Hey folks,

I'm new to RDAs and have a Vandy vape Pulse 24 BF rda that I'm loving except for one thing. I've been experiencing a lot of spitback and someone at work advised that my wicks were probably over-saturated. I burned off some liquid and, sure enough, the spitback subsided significantly. Now, though, I have another problem. I can get 2, maybe 3 good puffs and then I start to get a not-quite-burnt taste.

I've got a couple pics of the build here that I took right after one of these not-right hits.

A couple things I should note:
  • I'm absolutely open to trying other wicking materials if someone has something non-cotton that they swear by. I'm using organic cotton mainly because it's what my local shop had when I bought my new gear.
  • The juice I'm running right now is a DIY concoction. The current recipe is 75/25 VG/PG. I've got a test batch of 60/40 steeping that I'll be trying in a couple days to see if that alleviates the issue (also for flavor reasons).

Any tips/advice would be appreciated.

The coils are Demon Killer Tri-Twisted Clapton. I'm not sure of the inner dimension because I don't have anything to measure with.
The cotton is Cotton King, thick enough that the twisted cotton pulled through the fresh coils with a small amount of tension but not so tight that the coils noticeably moved while pulling.

Attachments

• vv-pulse24-top.png
    vv-pulse24-top.png
    3.5 MB · Views: 70
  • vv-pulse24-angle.png
    vv-pulse24-angle.png
    4.3 MB · Views: 65
Last edited:
Reactions: stols001

Shawn Hoefer

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 21, 2015
Arkansas Ozarks
First thing I notice is that your coils are riding way too high. You want those air pipes to be pointed at the coils.