I need INFOOOO plez

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello guys. So im new to mods and though I know about battery safety and know enough to not blow my self up i have a question on how to set up my coil. Currently my build is at a .5ohms and i feel like i get a burnt flavor (as if im cooking my cotton) even though my wick seems to be adequately saturated. This will happen after a hit or two. Im no monster cloud maker so i dont take enormouse drags that should dry up my cotton after one or two hits

Some Specs:

Battery: 81650 3.7V 2100mAH
rda: Patriot V.1 -- dual coil set up
Coil: 28awg Kanthal - rated 5.4 ohms/ft --- I believe i have it at a 5/4 wrap (dont have my mod currently with me)

Any help or insight you guys can give would be appreciated!

Tinkiegrrl

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 18, 2013
New York, NY
There are a lot of factors that could go into creating a burnt taste. First, different juices can handle different temps. Some tend to burn at the higher temps produced with sub-ohming. Next, there could be a hot spot on your coil. An area that is heating up faster then the rest of the coil. When you fire the coil without the wick, does it glow evenly, starting from the middle of the coil outward? Does any part seem to glow brighter? If so, you may want to change the coil. Last but not least (in fact, likely should have gone first) is airflow. Many drill out the airholes on their caps to increase the airflow. Doing so will increase the clouds and decrease the overall temp inside.

Ryedan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2012
Ontario, Canada