Status
Not open for further replies.

CMD-Ky

Highly Esteemed Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 15, 2013
KY
Recently I have noticed a rash of very new members posting about medical problems they may have. These posts are immediately answered by well intentioned (no doubt) but rather dubious advice. "I am not a doctor but..."; generally this advice is, in effect, "Don't go to the doctor yet but rather adjust this or that chemical". Advice which, if followed, will result in the delay the seeking of competent medical advice. The last I saw was a poster who thought he may have cystic acne. All kinds of suggestions were offered, all of which were time consuming to follow while observing the results; thus delaying care. Others have involved shortness of breath, heart palpitations and my memory fails me as to others but there have been many. The advice which was allowed on the forum was often potentially dangerous.

@classwife shut down the most recent saying that we cannot discuss health issues. I found this to be wise. I had not seen a "medical" thread locked before for this reason, though many should have been. Most of these threads are shut down not because they are filled with very questionable advice but rather because they have degenerated into a brawl.

It seems to me that the failure to police this dispensing of medical advice more diligently could be rather more risky than making sure that dirty words aren't used, that mean comments are deleted and that illegal substances aren't mentioned. All of these are dealt with rather quickly and summarily while dubious, potentially harmful, medical advise often remains for days.

I appreciate your time reading this.

Last edited:

classwife

Admin
Admin
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 9, 2010
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Hi @CMD-Ky

I am glad you posted this !