Status
Not open for further replies.

Gummy Bare

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 2, 2012
San Diego, California
What's the lowest resistance coil i could fire on a box mod with a IRLB3034PbF Mosfet chip?

The box will be a dual parallel 18650 box mod. I also have some 26650 battery sleds, so i was thinking of making a dual parallel of that as well.

I'm new to making box mods; so i'm not exactly sure what the limits of the mosfet chip is or what negative effects it could have on the circuit that a mechanical mod would not have. I just have read the mosfet is "safer" and allows you to use any button you want no matter that the DC rating is.

thanks in advance for the help :)

WKS01

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 17, 2013
NV
That MOSFET is rated at 375W so, IMO, the limiting factor will be your batteries.......

It is rated for 375 watts with an additional heat sink, not as a stand alone package, noted by the condition of TC, sometimes written as Tmb (Mounting base temperature), equal to 25oC. Some data sheets determine the max power dissipation when the MOSFET is attached to one square inch of copper on the board and would be noted as such. For the TO220 package I would not go much over 2 watts.

Quick quote for NXP's PDF explaining how to read and use their data sheets: (Page 6 -Understanding power MOSFET data sheet parameters)

"Ptot (total power dissipation) is the maximum allowed continuous power dissipation for a device with a mounting base at 25oC. The power dissipation is calculated as that which would take the device to the maximum allowed junction temperature while keeping the mounting base at 25oC"

Last edited:
Reactions: david4500

JohnnyDill

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 22, 2013
Uranus