Most Common Coil Building Misinformation I've Received

Status
Not open for further replies.

victoryt71

Dec 30, 2014
Texas
I'm an electronics engineer and when I first started learning to build my own coils the information I was getting from my local vaping shops did not "click" with me. Until...I figured out the vaping community uses a slightly different vocabulary. As I watched them wrap my coil it dawned on me that what everyone calls coil resistance is what I understood to be impedance.

I kept being told it was the number of wraps, regardless of the wire gauge, that increases or decreases your resistance.

Maybe this was my own hang up, but after several "discussions" with my local store of trying to tell them they were making a heat inductor and not a resistor at all and trying to explain to them the resistance is a result of the length of the wire, not the number of wraps, I finally brought an ohm meter to the store and showed them that 2" of kanthal (gauge didn't matter) has the same amount of resistance whether you do one wrap or 12 it just all made more sense for both of us.

Smaller gauge wire (thicker wire) has less resistance and can give you a much larger heating surface with more wraps than a larger gauge wire (thinner wire) can. To get the same 1.4 resistance on a coil built with 30 gauge wire using a 6/5 wrap with 26 gauge you would have to do a 14/13 wrap using the same diameter wrapping tool. Both these builds will pull the same amps and provide the same wattage. The difference is the 30 gauge coil is only around 1/8" long and does not provide as much heating surface as the 26 gauge coil which will be around a 1/2" or more long.

Sorry, I ramble, but once I was speaking the same "laungauge" I was able to start customizing all my rebuildables for exactly the perfect flavor and cloud.

In short, more wraps does not dictate more resistance. The length and the gauge of the wire you use does.