RDA Mutation X v2 weak vape

Status
Not open for further replies.

Treeburner1983

Reviewer / Blogger
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Without doing enough research first, I picked up a Mutation X v2 as my first rda. I've been using RTA's for a couple months now, so I'm familiar with all sorts of coil building and wicking. But every time I set up my Mutation X v2, I end up with a super hot, very little vapor vape. Running dual 24g, 3mm diameter for .22 ohms together, wicked with Japanese cotton. But no matter what wattage I run it at or how many or few air holes are uncovered, I'm still getting a really hot, wispy vape. My 50/50 juice is not perfect for an rda but it produces columns of vapor out of my Lemo and my Fogger v4, so any suggestions of what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks,
Joe

Mrez

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 30, 2014
New Jersey, United States
I think it has something to do with the way the air flow is set up in the Mutation X v2. I have one as well, and I always found it very airy regardless of the build and airflow set up. This is coming from someone who likes a fairly loose draw. A friend of mine who likes to go much deeper in subohm territory then I do says the atty doesn't really start to shine until you build in the <0.20 range. Since that is lower then my batteries can comfortably handle (except my sony's), I've kinda shelved the Mutation in favor of other atty's right now (Big Block, Freakshow, Vulcan with airflow sleeve, plume, etc). I recently ordered the glass cap for the mutation X v2 with the single 3 mm holes to see if that improves things for me. I'll report back once I have it in hand and set up with a basic dual 24 gauge.

alicewonderland

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 28, 2012