My First Mech: Everything in Order?

Status
Not open for further replies.

madqatter

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Sep 14, 2013
Virginia
As I've mentioned elsewhere, my first mech is in the mail. (Actually, two are in the mail. :oops:)

I am a noob, not just to mechs but to vaping generally. So I've been doing lots of reading, watching YouTube videos, and so forth. Articles on battery safety, videos on maintenance, that sort of thing.

Here are things I've been collecting:

some AW IMR 18490s from RTD
Nitecore Intellicharger I4
LiPo bag
smok kick (for now, at least, I want the added control & safety)
plastic battery case (I already had soda bottle preforms)
multimeter
fuse :2c: (backup in case the kick is DOA)

Getting a mod isn't necessarily expensive... getting the other stuff needed for a mod is. ;)

Is there anything else you more experienced mech owners would consider essential? What and why?

And what about maintenance? Different people seem to do this differently. How do you polish you contacts? What do you use on your threads?

Like I said, I have been reading articles and watching videos. But if you have a link you consider essential, please don't hesitate to share it here, too. I may have missed it, or someone else might want/need to see it. :thumb:

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
And what about maintenance? Different people seem to do this differently. How do you polish you contacts? What do you use on your threads?
Battery contacts can be cleaned with the highest % isopropyl alcohol you can find with a long cotton tip applicator. Same for the top connector center pin.

Battery cap threading can use some Noaloxx (anti-oxidant) every couple of months to keep them clean, lubricated, and anti-oxidized which prevents thread lockup. This can be found in most hardware stores in the electrical department.

noalox-2.jpg

Last edited:

TreVader

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Aug 31, 2013
Los Angeles, CA