Question About Li-Poly Batts

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I'm new to vaping and mods, but I've always been a DIY person and been lurking this forum for a while. Thanks to some of the great modders here, I feel comfortable starting on my own mods.

Just had a question regarding li-poly batteries, more specifically, which ones are safe to use. I'm seeing the different discharge rates 15c, 25c, etc. How high of a discharge rate can I use? Also, I see they come in 3.7v, 7.4v and 11.1v, with a DNA20 board, can I use any of these or must it be a 3.7v as I've seen other mods use?

Thanks for all your help in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

Azmo

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 8, 2013
Liverpool, NY, USA
Hi all,

I'm new to vaping and mods, but I've always been a DIY person and been lurking this forum for a while. Thanks to some of the great modders here, I feel comfortable starting on my own mods.

Just had a question regarding li-poly batteries, more specifically, which ones are safe to use. I'm seeing the different discharge rates 15c, 25c, etc. How high of a discharge rate can I use? Also, I see they come in 3.7v, 7.4v and 11.1v, with a DNA20 board, can I use any of these or must it be a 3.7v as I've seen other mods use?

Thanks for all your help in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

You want a 3.7v battery. But you can wire as many 3.7v batteries as you want in parallel and still be at 3.7v. Not to confuse you, but it is possible to turn a 7.4 or 11.1 battery into a 3.7v battery. A 7.4 is just two 3.7's wired in series and an 11.1 is three in series. But to make them 3.7, you would have to rewire the cells.

As for the discharge rate, higher is better, just not necessary. A very low discharge rate is where you will have problems. A 15c is plenty.

inter_ceptor00

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 27, 2011
Minor Details