Really ridiculous Newbie question about Kanger Subox Nano

Status
Not open for further replies.

inkjen2003

Sep 28, 2015
Apologies in advance....I am VERY new to mods so I'm having trouble understanding a good bit of info that is out there. I just purchased a Kanger subox Nano (I was actually one of the unlucky ones that had an Ego blow up on me, scary stuff!). So long story short...I've tried to research everything and get the "safest" one possible, with all the cutoffs etc, as well as IMR batteries and Nitecore charger. So....i keep reading about voltage...and am super confused. If I am understanding correctly....there is voltage as in how many volts are left on the battery....and volts as far as firing resistance? The display on the Kanger has a battery display like you would find on a cell phone...mine is at a little more than half (I took it out and checked it on the charger and its saying battery is at 85%). The display showing volts says 0.0v, but changes when firing. Yesterday, I had wattage at 20w and it showed 3.4V....this morning my throat was a bit sore, so I lowered watts to 16w, and the voltage went to 3.0V. I keep reading stuff about bad voltage drops and wasnt sure if THIS is what they are talking about? Or just related to battery volts....or is it all the same? Like I said, I am SUPER confused, and scared of having another battery blow up in my hands because, yeah, that just wasnt cool at all :(

When you change the wattage, it changes the voltage. Learn Ohm's Law and it will help you greatly. The variance in how many volts your battery is putting out does change based on charge, but that isn't something you will have to worry about using a non-mechanical mod. The circuitry of the mod is regulating the voltage output based on your chosen wattage.

inkjen2003

Sep 28, 2015