Resistance changing in a coil?

Status
Not open for further replies.

goalie

Mar 20, 2014
Minnesota, US
I’m very new to coils. I was vaping today and noticed my coil was really glowing.. I thought something was wrong, so I took it apart and everything looked ok. I did a resistance reading and it had dropped from .33 to .18. Is something wrong or does the resistance of a coil sometimes change? I think it was glowing due to the wattage being too high for the “new” resistance of the coil.

Thanks

stols001

Moved On
ECF Veteran
May 30, 2017
Are you talking about a drop in coil or RTA/rba deal? I'm assuming the latter. What is the coil material and what wattage are you running it at. Stainless steel will fluctuate in resistance somewhat, and if you took your first (and only) reading when it was cold, vs. glowing red, I could perhaps see such a drastic coil change. The resistance changes in temp controlled wires are actually used to regulate temperature is my understanding, and they all fluctuate differently. Kanthal does not do that, to my understanding.

That type of resistance change may be within normal for a SS coil, but not a kanthal one (I am assuming you are running in wattage mode. If so, it's not something you need to worry about (although I guess it is telling you that your temperature is rising in your tank, if you see that much of a drastic change).

What wattage were you running that was "too high" for the coil? Did you notice any other changes? If you can, check to make sure the legs are still securely mounted to the posts and that nothing is loose. Otherwise, I'd be guessing it's a cold stainless steel coil, who's resistance is jumping around a bit more than normal if you superheated it.

Again, I'm speculating at this point, because really more information is needed.

Anna

goalie

Mar 20, 2014
Minnesota, US