Vaping and Rosacea

Status
Not open for further replies.

LadyPhoenix

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 25, 2010
Easton, PA
Let me start by saying I'm not a doctor or scientist. But based on my experience and the fact that I can reproduce the symptoms, I believe that vaping triggers skin conditions, namely Rosacea acne. And I think it's the nicotine. So here is my story.

I began vaping in June of 2010. I started with pre-filled cartos in a KR808 battery. I was vaping PG, 18-24 mg. Things went fine but after a number of weeks I began breaking out. I didn't think much of it at first and attributed it to the fact that I quit smoking. Anyway, as time went on the breakouts became far worse and of a different nature. This wasn't like, a pimple here and there kind of thing. It would be a lot of small pimples in a cluster that would eventually form heads and ooze. Nasty. So I went to the dermatologist. She told me it wasn't acne or an allergic reaction, but that it was Rosacea. I didn't believe her since I've never displayed symptoms of it before and I'm 42, plus I did not have the typical "red cheeks" that is predominant in Rosacea sufferers. Nevertheless, I do have the correct ethnic background for it (Scottish). So she put me on Doryx (antibiotic) 1x/day and Finacea (topical) 2x/day.