Status
Not open for further replies.

dykealiscious

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 25, 2014
Seattle
I've gotten myself involved in battery safety education and as a noob I admit to being confused a bit. Let me make this simple. Ill tell you what my gear is and I just wanna know the safe ohm range. One site said to check the specs for maximum amp output after build but I'm having a hard time finding that piece and I'm not sure if it matters on my builds.

Atty: nimbus clone, dual coils typically
Mech mod- panzer clone, USA made, high quality
Battery: Sony high drain 30a 186500 3.7v, 2100mAh imr li-ion

I don't typically sub ohm as it kills my throat. I tend to like the 1.5-2.0 range. Takes a while to heat up the higher end. But should I want to experiment on either end of the spectrum, what can I safely build in ohms with that battery?

Second question, what's the best setup for a happy medium of quicker light up of my coils and keeping it cooler?

Thank you for indulging me.

pdib

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Nov 23, 2012
www.e-cigarette-forum.com
I'm guessing you have the sony VTC4? I think that one is the 2100mAh. (30Amp) A fully charged battery meters at about 4.2 Volts. So using that number (4.2), and the resistance of your coil (or any hypothetical coil), plug in the two numbers here ↓ and it will give you "Current" in Amps. Don't build lower than about . .. . meh ~60-70% of Amp rating of battery. (i.e. stop lowering resistance of coil when you hit, oh, about 20 Amps) . . . . .[tee-hee*]

Ohm's and Joule's Law Calculator

*looks like about 0.2Ω

Last edited:

pdib

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Nov 23, 2012
www.e-cigarette-forum.com
second question: