When I should replace coil in an RDA or RTA?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterKay

ECF Veteran
May 1, 2020
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Hi folks, a very basic question- how do you know when to change the coil? I've only started using rebuidables 3 months ago, I'm beginning to wonder whether I shoud change my coils, they seem to work fine but I've no experience. Every time i rewick I first wash the coil to remove most of the gunk, then dry burn, then wash again to remove the burned stuff. I use wire brush the second time I wash.

PeterKay

ECF Veteran
May 1, 2020
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
I noticed there is some residue left after dry burning when i brush that comes off as black powder, thats why I always wash to remove as much as i can. Also more of that dry burned stuff if I don't wash the coil prior to dry burning. Maybe I overdo it slightly but the coil always comes out pretty clean afterwards, and I rewick once a week so it's not a lot of work

PeterKay

ECF Veteran
May 1, 2020
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
I think the old wisdom was a mild baking soda and water soak? The only other sure fire fix is designated bottles for strong mixes.

I think rubbing alcohol damages rubber and plastic but not silicon?
I'm using Eleaf pico squeeze 2, been searching forever for alternative bottles but due to the design it looks like I'll be stuck with the original bottles made for that device. The bottle is very soft- I pretty like it, if I open the bottle cover and tilt the bottle to the side where the needle touches the bottom, I can squeeze practically to the very last drop. But I guess that super soft design is the reason why it absorbs flavors so well. I need to try the baking soda soak, thanks!

BillW50

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 23, 2014
US
Hi folks, a very basic question- how do you know when to change the coil?