Working with 24AWG KA1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kazuko

May 17, 2018
France
Hi everyone,

I'm really new to making my own coils, I got my RDA two days ago, and so far tried 3 different builds.
I'm somewhat a cloud chaser (not for competition, really just for fun), so I've tried to builds that I expected to hugely differ, cloud-wise, but I think I'm doing it wrong, 'cause I've got quite the same results with all those builds...

I'm only using the 24AWG KA1 that came with the Coil Master kit for now, I don't want to rush into clapton, alien, or exotic wires for now, I'd like to experiment with simple stuff first.
Note sure it's worth mentioning, but I use an Eleaf iStick Melo, with a Dead Rabbit SQ RDA, and all I build is contact coils.

My first build was a simple 7 (half) wraps 3mm ID, reading at 0.67 on my mod, and I ran it at 32W. Vapor was decent and thick.

My second build was a parallel 7 (half) wraps 3mm ID, reading at 0.26 (I kinda rushed when I mounted it so the legs didn't stuck with the other wraps). I ran it at 42W 'cause I had lots of spit-backs at 50W, and I think I under-wicked it 'cause I got dry hits when chain vaping, but didn't when I let it rest between each puffs. The ramp-up was slow as f though, so letting the wicks get wet meant letting the coil get cold. I expected the vapor production to be insane, but it really wasn't, it was quite the same as the previous build.

Since I had similar vape and dry hits, I decided to go back to a simpler build, but with a lower resistance.
So, my third and last build is a simple 5 (half) wraps 2.5mm ID, reading at 0.38, and so far it's my favorite. I have more flavor than with the other builds (though I put this one a little closer to the deck, I think the other builds were too high up). The amount of cotton seems fine, when I drip it well I can get 5 good minutes of chain vaping without feeling the wick getting dry.
The amount of vapor seems at least on par with the other builds, as well.