ShutterBug
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Contest Winner!
  • Mar 24, 2018
    New Zealand
    I've recently been trying this awesome stuff:
    9653077-1.jpg

Previously I've only ever wrapped ss316L single wire 28ga or the odd 26ga coils. I have a Coil master v4 coiling kit. But to wrap my coils, I just use the jig and the 2.5mm id rod and hand wrap them like this:

7614800-6.jpg

However, I've noticed that wrapping even thin clapton wire like this, is not as easy as 28ga single wire ;)

I often get twists in the wire, which drive my ocd nuts. What are the easiest and best techniques to wrap a clapton coil? Should I use the
    small black rods in the pic below and wrap the coil with them?

7614800-4.jpg

Please share what works for you :thumb:

Punk In Drublic

Vaping Master
    ECF Veteran
    Aug 28, 2018
    Toronto, ON
    Not sure I understand the twist you speak of. A picture would be helpful. But if you are referring to that twist in your first picture, where the wire lead is within the jig’s channel - if you are willing to sacrifice a little extra wire, wind an extra wrap and then remove it by pulling it out with a pair of pliers.

Dougiestyle

Vaping Master
    ECF Veteran
    Verified Member
    Feb 5, 2011
    Knoxville, TN USA
    I use a couple sets of surgical forceps to hold both ends of clapton tight and orient the stationary forcep with wire against the mandrel (rod). The first wrap is the most difficult to wrap tight, but pulling opposite directions with the forceps to "choke" the mandrel after the first wrap gets the shape/size set. Then, it's just a matter of finishing the coil. I've never used the coil master jig. Generally, with my preferred method, a jewellers screwdriver is implemented as the mandrel. My Wotofo Profile came with a nice 3.5mm mandrel I like to use, also. Good luck! Practice makes perfect, as they say!

AngeNZ

ShutterBug
    Supporting Member
    ECF Veteran
    Contest Winner!
  • Mar 24, 2018
    New Zealand