Kayfun Lite

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guppy086

Jul 1, 2014
Ireland
I'm thinking of investing in a Kayfun Lite from fasttech. Can't afford a genuine one at the moment and as I'm new to building my own coils, I figured a clone was a good start. The one I'm looking at has had good reviews. My question is, what size kanthal should I use and how many wraps. I will be using it on a Vamo v5 and E-Huge. What ohm's should I aim for and how many wraps will I need. I have some .20 Kanthal lying around but will get a different size wire if needed....Ian

epicdoom

ECF Veteran
Apr 12, 2014
Maryland USA
Kayfuns are the best flavor tanks on the planet IMO you cant go wrong with one I have authentic and clones and they all vape great. Use a coil in the 1.2 - 1.5 ohm range. This build in this video is the best I have found so far you can use cotton instead of silica if you want but the silica works great as well https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdXjBWf8Pc0

chebird

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 21, 2013
Western Mass
To answer your question directly on the 20 gauge kanthal, IMO It would take far to many wraps to get that to the right ohms plus I doubt if youd ever get that large of a wire to stick under the tiny screws that hold your coil. I use 28g kanthal around a 2mm rivet 8 wraps to get me to 1.4 ohms works great with cotton. I run through 4 full tanks before taking apart, pull cotton, and dry burn the coil and rewick.

crooklyn

Verified Member
Jul 2, 2014
Connecticut
I got a kayfun clone from fasttech as a backup and it was CRAPPPPPPP!!!!!!. Took 3 weeks to get and had a weird metally after taste. I washed and tried to boil it but it was horrible tasting still. Tighten down one of the post and the whole block with screw would move.

If its a clone you can afford go for the EHpro version. The Tobecco is good too but I like the EHPro version better. IMHO

Midniteoyl

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 19, 2014
Indiana