Question: Sinus infections and smoking

Status
Not open for further replies.

numsquat

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 18, 2015
Just finished reading the health benefits thread and had a similar but more specific question. I'm not a current or ex-smoker (previous smokeless user) so I have no experience on this. I'm asking because I have an employee who smokes and has had almost consistent sinus infections over the last (at least) 2 years. She has had 2 sinus surgeries and will be going in soon for allergy testing, so I know there are other aspects to the infection issue.

So has anyone had sinus infection issues when they were smoking and if so, have you seen an improvement in not having them since quitting smoking?

RoseB

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Sep 3, 2012
Washington
Just finished reading the health benefits thread and had a similar but more specific question. I'm not a current or ex-smoker (previous smokeless user) so I have no experience on this. I'm asking because I have an employee who smokes and has had almost consistent sinus infections over the last (at least) 2 years. She has had 2 sinus surgeries and will be going in soon for allergy testing, so I know there are other aspects to the infection issue.

So has anyone had sinus infection issues when they were smoking and if so, have you seen an improvement in not having them since quitting smoking?

Hello :) To answer your questions: yes & yes again. Sinus infections *and* many winters with pneumonia. I was a 1 1/2 - 3 PAD chain smoker. Giving up the smokes has pretty much put an end to that. Although, I did get a sinus infection this fall. One in 3 years versus non-stop all winter...yeah doing better for sure. Hopefully your employee makes a speedy and full recovery.

Rat2chat2

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 16, 2013
North Carolina