RDA Microcoil question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Travislavery

Dec 27, 2013
Yuma, AZ, USA
I just built a dual coil on my Nimbus V3 clone using 28 gauge kanthal and the ohms comes out to be .7ohms. My question is, is the .7 ohm resulting from two .35 ohm coils or are they both .7ohm? I bought a MNKE IMR 18650 1500mAH battery for sub ohming and the battery chart shows that the specific battery is safe around .5 ohms, but I don't know if a .7ohm dual coil is safe for it.

xanderxman

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 10, 2012
Ptown, VA
The resistance that your battery will see is .7 ohms. Your battery doesn't care what resistance each coil is rated at, just the final resistance. I am not a professional, but if your battery is rated to handle a .5 ohm resistance and your coil is metering at .7 ohms then I would think you should be fine.

Travislavery

Dec 27, 2013
Yuma, AZ, USA
The resistance that your battery will see is .7 ohms. Your battery doesn't care what resistance each coil is rated at, just the final resistance. I am not a professional, but if your battery is rated to handle a .5 ohm resistance and your coil is metering at .7 ohms then I would think you should be fine.

Very good, too bad I have my vamo v5 and my nemesis is in the mail right now... The Vamo wont fire so I suppose I need to put this RDA away until the Nemi comes in!

Jawden

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 14, 2013
Hilo, HI
if its rated for .5 then youre ok at .7

but yes, like posted above, if you were to insert only one of the two coils you made, you would have gotten a ~1.4 reading. but because you went dual coil, the second coil cuts the resistance in half, therefore resulting in a .7 ohm coil.

read around, theres many threads explaining the details of wrapping your own coils.

good luck!

do you know the ampere rating for that battery? if im not mistaken the mnke batt is rated at 30A...could be wrong.

Last edited:

xanderxman

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran